About the room

  • House
  • 6 bedrooms total
  • 1 bedrooms available (Double Room)
  • 2 bathrooms
  • 8 months minimum stay
  • Available 1 October
  • Furnished
  • TV
  • Wifi

Who lives there

5 mixed gender, from 21 to 23, mixed, outside smokers only


Ideal flatmates

Everyone welcome


Room description

We are looking to find a new house mate to join a house of 5, due to our current flatmate

moving out. The move in date we are proposing is October 1st.

I (Owen) am the most recent person to have moved into the house (last July), and can honestly say in terms of the Cardiff rental market, this property is an absolute steal and incredibly good value for the price!

The house has the following utilities:

• 2 Bathrooms (upstairs- with shower, loo and bath, downstairs- with loo and shower)

• washing machine

• tumble dryer

• dishwasher

• gas stoves

• fan oven

• living room with TV (virgin media) and surround sound

Our kitchen is large and open planned with plenty of surface space to cook and prepare

meals and a large communal dining table where we regularly eat together.

In terms of storage you will be offered 2 cupboards, one up, one down (pictures can be requested) and access to your fair share of one of the two large fridge-freezers. You will also have access to communal storage space of glasses, cutlery and Tupperware. There will also be the opportunity to utilise further communal storage space for spices and utilities which can be arranged after the move in date.

We are located in close proximity to Roath park (1 min walk) and about a 20-25 min walk to

the centre of town (10 min cycle). Our closest bus stop is Angus Street, on Albany Road (3

min walk) which has regular busses to the town centre and other parts of Cardiff. We are

also situated a 5 min drive from the A48. All of this makes our location ideal for commuting

into town, the outskirts of Cardiff, Newport and University. We have an outdoor shed where

many of our house stores bikes.

You will be joining 5 other housemates in total- me, Owen, who is doing a masters in Maths, Olly who is working full time coding, Oona who is doing a masters in Ecology, Amelia who is

doing a masters in Geology and Seun who will be working full time at Pho, a newly opening

Vietnamese Restaurant in town.

We are a very mixed house both in terms of gender (3 girls, 2 boys) and occupation (3

studying, 2 working), meaning a student or a professional would fit in fine. Although we are

all young adults (21-23) we are open to living with a more mature person.

As a house, we are all into cooking, regularly prepping communal dinners but outside of that

we have a broad range of interests. One thing you may notice from the pictures is that we

have a lot of plants, this is mainly down to our housemate Oona, who also has 2 baby

Hermann’s tortoises, and a large fish tank (our landlord is fairly relaxed about non-fluffy

pets). We also have a few music lovers, I have a large CD collection and Olly and Seun collect

Vinyl. Amelia loves to bake and often gets commissioned to make incredible cakes. It’s hard to portray our personalities on here but we would all love to meet you properly before you

move in.

We have a good relationship with our landlord, Adrian. He doesn’t take the mick and when

something needs doing he has a short turnaround time (usually a few days). If you would

like to contact him before moving in that can be arranged.

Bills are a standard and competitive price of around £50/month, so for bills and rent you

would be looking at roughly £350, which includes wifi (100mbps), virgin tv, tv license, electric, water, and heating. A council tax contribution will also be required if you are working, to be split between the other two professionals in the house, Olly and Seun.

Feel free to ring me (Owen) on the number associated with the advert for any questions or to arrange a booking! The email address is inactive.


Listing ID: H19091116846491

Posted on 11 September 2019